Annual Review 2018/9

2018 was a year of consolidation and growth for Edge Fund, as we continued our work funding grassroots groups, influencing other funding bodies, and doing much needed internal development. We hit our target of two funding rounds in the year, and continued work on integrating our funding model more closely with the groups we fund, allowing them through inviting the to become members of Edge Fund. It was also a challenging year as we lost a Regional Organiser and were understaffed for four months. Despite this, we welcomed our new RO and some changes to the Facilitating Group as well as the energy of new members.

 

 

Read more

Annual Review 2017/18

Year ending 31st January 2018

This was a year of strategising for Edge Fund as we explored new proposals for how we give out grants (long-term and emergency) and reviewed our financial position and fundraising to take the organisation into a more sustainable place. We also reviewed our participatory grant giving model and looked for ways to ensure we are engaging activists and people working on the frontlines of grassroots organising.

 

Read more

Annual Review 2016/7

Year ending 31 January 2017

Grants

Our funding day in Manchester for Round 6

Our sixth funding round completed in the 2016/17 financial year. The round 5 funding day took place in London 23 January 2016, agreeing grants of £40,000, just before the 215/16 year end and there were still some grants to pay. Round 6 opened in May 2016 and the application deadline was extended and pot increased by £20,000 to a total of £60,000, in response to political events. This resulted in us receiving a massive 380 applications. The funding day took place in Manchester 1 October 2016. Total grants paid out in the financial year totalled £73,338. Follow this link for a report on our funding day.

 

Read more

Annual Review 2015/6

Year ending 31 January 2016

At the beginning of the financial year we were in the process of a review. Edge Fund has grown very quickly and we needed to respond to this by assessing where we were at and what changes were needed. The review consisted of writing a new values statement, devising a new staffing structure as well as making some more minor changes to the application process. The values statement can be read on our website.

The review process consisted of meetings held in both London and Manchester and then a final survey which 50 members took part in.

 

Read more

Annual Review 2014/5

Year ending 31 January 2015

Our second financial year began with a review of our first year as a fully operating fund. As a young organisation committed to trying new approaches that fully live up to our values around justice and equity, we feel it’s important to take time to step back and see how we’re doing and to constantly evolve. The review process meant we only had one funding round during the year but it was far from a quiet year.

 

Read more

Annual Review 2013/4

Year ending 31 January 2014

In April 2012 a group of donors and activists came together to talk about setting up a new fund which would support social change work as well as actively working to break down power dynamics in funding. Our approach is based on democracy, accountability and transparency and funding grassroots activism for systemic change. By January 2013 we’d raised over £100,000, became registered as a Community Benefit Society and had our first 15 members.

 

Read more


connect